# Saving Changes Is Not Permitted


Have you ever created a table thinking everything looked amazing and was designed perfect only to come back and need to add to it?  Maybe you need to change a data type, add a column, delete a column or move a column.  It's an easy fix, right.  Just right click on the table, go to Design mode and make your changes. Well, this would be a pretty useless story if all that worked flawlessly. As you close the table to save all your great, wonderful, glorious changes you are greeted not with a screen that says: “Congrats Brad! Those were good changes you just made to the table. Keep up the good work." (Could we get some cool reassuring messages like that in the 2011/2012 release please Microsoft??)  Instead you get this unfriendly box that says: "_Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created.  You have either made changes to a table that can't be re-created or enabled the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created._" ![](https://cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/v1716523233060/e80318f5-bc73-4f46-ac6f-43c6dc269f5b.png) This is a less that optimum message to get.  No one wants to re-create a table every time you need to make a change.  Luckily there is a fix.  In order to get around this message you can change a setting in the tools menu.  Simply go to_**Tools > Options > Designers > Table and Database Designers**_.  From there uncheck the box next to "_**Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation**_" and you will be able to edit your tables without issue. ![](https://cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/v1716523234306/a2512bd1-1391-479a-a717-95db843c5421.png) You will still get a message that tables are going to be affected by the changes, which is fine, as your changes will now be saved!  Remember to always be careful when editing your tables.

